Real-life advice from a real-life recruiter

Should You Like the Company You Work For?  Cultural Fit IS Important!

Finding the right company to work for is just as significant as your starting salary.  It’s important, for job satisfaction, that you like the organization. It has to be a good fit for you.  There is a lot more to liking the company that you work for than just the amount on your paycheck!

“Organizational culture is dictated by the values, behaviors, beliefs and norms that permeate the group.  Culture is expressed through the words and behaviors of each employee… You should be sure the culture works from your standpoint.  Rarely will you find a work environment totally aligned with your values, but you should be able to find organizations where the culture and your values coexist.”  (Neece, Monster.com Career Advice).

If your values, behaviors, beliefs, etc. are vastly different than that of the company that you work for – there is a big chance that you may come to the realization that you don’t really like working for the organization.  You then may become victim to decreased work performance, low morale, poor attendance – you get the picture.  It’s a lot easier to get out of bed in the morning and give 110% when you actually like the organization that you work for.  Say you are in the process of interviewing with Company Q.  How do you find out if you are the right fit for the company’s organizational culture?  ASK QUESTIONS!  Do your homework.

I work in a company that is a good cultural fit for me.  I value education and career advancement opportunities as does Eat’n Park.  I was fortunate to be able to take advantage of the company’s tuition reimbursement program and get my Master’s degree.  I’ve also had the opportunity to try something new, and build my career, when I went from being a restaurant manager to the recruiter.  I really do like the organization that I work for and when I am at work – I give a 110% and I’m happy to do it and my performance reflects that.  I worked for an organization that wasn’t Eat’n Park, through high school and college, and our values were not in sync.  I was unhappy and dreaded going to work each day.  Since most of us need to work – might as well like the company that you are doing it for!

Until next time…

C.

Source

Neece, M.  (n.d.).  Assess Company Culture to Find the Best Fit [Blog Post].  Retrieved from Monster.com Career Advice

Leave a Reply

