Real-life advice from a real-life recruiter

“Not brute force but only persuasion and faith are the kings of this world”

-Thomas Carlyle

Greetings Fellow Followers! Last week we touched on the Power of persuasion and to echo off of that information I’d like your attention drawn to the power of words.

Researchers have found that the word you use to describe a car accident (“contacted” vs. “smashed”) paints the way eyewitnesses view the event. Another study found that simple stock names that are easier to pronounce lead to quicker gains post-IPO.

 

How a single word makes all the difference

In a study from the classic book “Influence” by Robert Cialdini tests were conducted on requests from a person in a hurry to use an in-office copy machine. The study examined how different requests might affect people’s willingness to allow this person to “cut” in line.

The participant simply stated on three separate occasions:

  1. “Excuse me, I have five pages. May I use the Xerox machine?” – 60% said OK

 

  1. “Excuse me, I have five pages. May I use the Xerox machine because I’m in a rush?” – 94% said OK

 

  1. “Excuse me, I have five pages. May I use the Xerox machine because I have to make some copies?” – 93% said OK

Though the third request seemed rather elementary, it didn’t matter-The trigger word “because” was all she needed.

 

The takeaway: When you want people to take action, always give a reason.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

